Onam Sadhya at Crimson Chakra

 

cc

 

My first ever Onam Sadhya. Thank you @samminator for calling me and making me experience something out of my comfort zone.

Sadhya means a variety of dishes traditionally served on a banana leaf in Kerala, India. During a traditional Sadhya celebration people are seated cross-legged on mats.

The main dish is plain boiled rice, served along with other dishes collectively called Kootan  which include curries like parippu, sambar, rasam, pulisseri and others like kaalan, avial, thoran, olan, pachadi, kichadi, koottukari, mango pickle, pulinji, naranga achaar (lime pickle), as well as papadam, plantain chips, sharkara upperi, banana, plain curd and buttermilk. The traditional dessert called Payasam served at the end of the meal is of many kinds and usually three or more are served. Some of the varieties are Paal Ada, Ada Pradhaman, Paripu pradhaman, chakkapradhaman, etc. The ‘Kootan’ are made with different vegetables and have different flavours; some say the reason for including so many dishes in the Sadhya is to ensure that the diners will like at least a few dishes.

Some communities, especially those in the northern part of Kerala, include non-vegetarian dishes in the sadhya. Although custom was to use traditional and seasonal vegetables. Tradition has it that Onion and garlic are not typically used in the sadhya. Conventionally, the meal may be followed by, chewing of betel leaf with lime . This helps digestion of the meal and also cleanses the palate.

The food tasting session began and I was excited to try my first sadhya.  Being in south and not really been a fan of coconut smell in my food. I was hoping to like and not sense the smell I ate.

To my surprise there wasn’t any smell. Thank God and I quickly grabbed the paratha and started munching away with the gravies given.

Lets talk about the menu first : below is the variety of things served to us. Must tell you I loved every bit of what was served.

21222554_10155060420231775_1681882049_o

The APPAM, Paratha were very soft and my most favourite. The ghee rice served along with this was delicious, the ghee pouring from the rice and the aroma of the fresh hot ghee was just the thing I was looking for to have with my side dishes.

We ordered starters also which were mushroom masala, crispy potato, veg cutlet, cauliflower fried and Baby corn crispy. Well non veg starters were a variety of them to the ones i remember, as I dint get a chance to taste them , some were Chicken chukka, prawns crispy, chicken cutlet etc.

21216254_10155060420276775_443544599_o

Food review:

I loved every bit of the food there, be it the paratha, the channa masala, the rasam, the appam, the starters. The right quantity of masalas, less salt which I like. The aroma and the taste of all the side dishes actually made me finish the whole plate, like  a good girl.

Must must try the dishes. Whenever you go to Crimson Chakra.

Not sure if you will get to try all the dishes which we did, but you can request .

 

21245901_10155060420241775_707327682_o

The veg thali with starters around!

The price range was 300 veg and 400 non veg.

Address: #13, 1st Crescent Road, Gandhi Nagar, Adyar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600020
Phone: 044 4358 6116
Hours:  · 12–3PM7–11PM

Rating :

  • Food : 8.5/10
  • Ambiance : 7/10
  • Rates: 9/10

Happy reading 😀

Keep watching this space. For more fashion, food reviews.
Hit like to the pages below 😀

Follow me on Instagram: instagram.com/richestilo
On Facebook – Tap like – https://www.facebook.com/Richestilo

Also , Do tell me of how your experience was and what did you try? or just about my blog ? Or just to say HI!
Mail me at : richestilo@gmail.com

Can’t wait to hear you all 😀

Leave a comment